Infinite x MTV K First Showcase

Helado Negro’s Melting All Over Your Headphones with New LP

Helado Negro’s Melting All Over Your Headphones with New LP

By Amanda Lopez | February 27, 2013

Mix a fro, Spanish lyrics and gritty, entrancing rhythms and voila: you’ve got Helado Negro. The son of Ecuadorian parents, Helado Negro – born Roberto Carlos Lange – has been making sweet, blast-in-your-headphones-appropriate music since 2009 with his first full-length album Awe Owe. In 2013, we’re getting a taste of his bilingual side – Helado’s third album titled Invisible Life, available March 5th off Asthmatic Kitty Records, contains multiple tracks in both English and Spanish. The album showcases the Brooklynite’s affinity for fusing unlikely musical components together, creating melodic genius.

One of Helado Negro’s latest tunes and Invisible Life standout “Junes”  features funky basslines and Lange’s hypnotic voice over a chill, somewhat-repetitive-but-never-boring 14 bar hook. Give it a listen below and be sure to check out the full album streaming of Invisible Life on Spin.com.

Lucky for us, Helado Negro is bringing his black ice cream around the world and hopefully to a venue near you this March on tour. Check out the show dates:

Thu. Feb. 28 — Atlanta, GA @ 529

Fri. March 1 — Greensboro, NC @ CFBG

Sat. March 2 — Durham, NC @ The Garage at Motorco

Sun. March 3 — Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness

Mon. March 4 — Newport, KY @ South Gate House

Tue. March 5 — Indianapolis, IN @ Do317 Lounge

Wed. March 6 — Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle

Thu. March 7 — Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry

Fri. March 8 — Lafayette, IN @ Tippecanoe Arts Federation

Sun. March 10 – Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar

Wed. March 13 — Sat. March 16 Austin, TX @ SXSW

Tue. March 19 — Nashville, TN @ The Stone Fox

Wed. March 20 — Atlanta, GA @ 529

Fri. March 22 — Washington, DC @ Black Cat

Sat. March 23 — Philadelphia, PA @ North Star Bar

Sun. March 24 — Brooklyn, NY @ Glasslands [RECORD RELEASE SHOW]

Fri. April 5 — Toronto, ON @ The Music Gallery

Return to Blog